Spirulina+Coconut Oatmeal Bites

Have you heard of Spirulina powder? I started using it last week actually, in a smoothie bowl. I loved it.

This morning I decided to make oatmeal bites using Spirulina powder. They came out great and they were so easy to make. The recipe is very similar to the oatmeal bites I have made in the past, only it’s even easier and with less ingredients.

This article by the Welness Mama on Spirulina is a nice easy read. Read it here Spirulina Benefits if you are interested in it. Based on this article and many others I read on Spirulina, I decided to try it mostly because of all the running I’ve been doing lately; especially long runs. I found an organic option at HomeGoods.

I need to be better and eat before heading out for a long run. A couple of these bites should do the trick.

Try them yourself using my recipe below!

Spirulina + Coconut Oatmeal Bites

Spirulina + Coconut Oatmeal Bites

Spirulina + Coconut Oatmeal Bites

Spirulina+Coconut Oatmeal Bites

  • Difficulty: very easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1 banana (mashed)
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 Tbsp Spirulina powder
  • 2 cups rolled oats (I used Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free)
  • 1 /4 cup coconut flakes
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder

Preparation

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees and spray a muffin tin (12 muffin tin) with cooking spray.
  2. Mash the banana in a large bowl. Add the milk, egg, syrup, vanilla and spirulina powder. Whisk well until combined and smooth.
  3. Add the oats, coconut flakes and baking powder and mix well.
  4. Spoon the oatmeal mixture into the muffin tin. About two spoonfuls per muffin.
  5. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until lightly browned.
  6. Remove and let cool.

Sprinkle with additional coconut flakes (optional) for serving.

Enjoy!
Recipe written and tested by Hannah Hiller of Detroitisforfoodies.com

Leave a Reply